Balloons!

Balloons!  Gotta love em.  The promise of a balloon is enough to secure at least decent behavior from my children while in a restaurant.  I’m not a big fan of the limp balloons that the children are just not ready to let me toss laying around the house, but the real problem is the baby brother.  When I was a mom of 1 I was horrified by the relaxed control of choking hazards at the homes of friends with multiple kiddos.  Now that I have 3 crazy boys  I have to admit my 13 month old has been seen sucking on a Hot Wheel and I don’t even wince.  It is just darn near impossible to  keep all the “big boy toys” out of his reach.  Living up to the AAP recommendations ( http://www.aap.org/publiced/br_choking.htm ) is no doubt the safest option, but if that is not going to happen just don’t lax on the latex balloons.  It is tough to find a pediatrician who will let their children near one.  Your child should not have latex balloons until you can trust them 100% to keep it out of their mouth.  The problem is that unlike other items your child may choke on a balloon seals off the airway and is almost never removed with Heimlich maneuver or other choking first aid techniques.  Balloons account for nearly 30% of choking deaths in children and many are in children age 3-6yrs according to a Children’s Hospital Pittsburgh study(http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/7500505?dopt=Abstract).  We can all see our kids doing it.  They bite the balloon and gasp because they are frightened of the sound.  This or just the force of the popping balloon sends a piece of the latex into their airway where it conforms to the shape of the trachea creating a seal that prevents it from coming up as a result of choking rescue techniques.  Even EMTs are unable to remove the blockage as it require a scope and is still tricky at that.  By the time they get to the ER where a doc has a prayer of removing the object it is almost always to late.  My real parenting advice of the day:   Watch the balloons!!   You’ve eliminated 30% of the choking deaths us mommies are always worrying about.  According to the same study another 20 % is marble as small balls if you want a 50% reduction.Want to read more?  Check out these good articles I found:

Journal Watch- Causes of Choking in Children http://general-medicine.jwatch.org/cgi/content/full/1996/102/1

Dr Greene- Balloons Can Be Hazardous http://www.drgreene.com/21_563.html

4 Responses to “Balloons!”

  1. Elizabeth-Sharon Says:

    Loved it, Amber. Will try my best to watch for balloons. Jimmy was shocked to see me allow Thea to suck on a (kiddie-safe) bottle of children’s Tylenol. God give me the strength to follow through …

  2. Wow…a very informative blog. As I sit reading your blog there is a mylar balloon next to me on the floor in with Zayn’s toys. Are mylar balloons just as bad or just the stretchy nature of latex??

  3. awesome article!! thanks amber! you rock!

  4. pediatricmom Says:

    Mylar are much safer. Still don’t want them eating the thing, but they are hard to pop and don’t have the same stretchy problem 🙂

Leave a comment